About Us

Kendall Lunsford – President / CEO

Corrie Melberg–  Customer Service

Shane Donaldson – Loss Control/ Underwriting Inspections

Jared Sell – Claims Supervisor

Mollee Patten–  Customer Service

Toni Bernard – Underwriting, Quotes & Claims



Iowa River Mutual Insurance Association is a product of a merger between Hardin County Mutual Insurance Association and Iowa Valley Mutual Insurance Association in 2013. Iowa Valley Mutual was organized in 1869 while Hardin County Mutual was originally organized in 1871. Both companies had a rich tradition of providing local insurance protection to its members. In 2013 the Board of Directors realized the benefit of combining the two companies to expand the writing area and spread insurable risk along with the combining of resources to improve efficiency in operations. On January 1, 2016, Franklin County Farmers Mutual was merged into Iowa River Mutual. This decision continues the commitment of growth and efficiency, with quality coverage and competitive price, as part of its long term business plan. Iowa River Mutual has initiated the mission of prompt reliable protection through local agents for our Iowa members.


Farm and Home insurance policies are the target market in an ever changing and evolving marketplace. We strive to implement emerging technology to improve the ease of doing business with our Agent partners. We also promise to provide the tools for protecting the future and backing our promise of quality insurance protection with an efficient and personal response. Iowa River Mutual has represented the state of Iowa at Grinnell Mutual’s Presidents Club in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018. This award represents achievements for outstanding performance and customer service and satisfaction. Today, Iowa River Mutual writes over 3,200 policies with rural and town property insurance in force of over $1,300,000,000 in 31 counties of north central Iowa.


Board of Directors

Mark Hilleman (Chairman) State Center, IA Steve Perry New Providence, IA Dwight Schuneman (Secretary) Eldora, IA
Gary Claypool Hampton, IA Brenda Mosher Liscomb, IA Bill Patten Clemons, IA
Mark Guy Iowa Falls, IA Dallas Muhlenbruch Dows, IA  Jack Mackin Marshalltown, IA